Latest House Health Care Bill Still Contains Illegal Alien Loophole

Written by FAIRUS.org


 Help FAIR Ensure That Illegal Aliens Won't Be Able to Access Taxpayer-Funded Benefits!

After months of debate, Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi (D-CA) is finally ready to bring the health care reform bill to the House floor. As FAIR has reported, this bill contains a suspect verification mechanism that will almost certainly allow illegal aliens to game the system and access taxpayer-subsidized health care benefits created under the bill.

Fortunately, this problem can still be fixed. On Friday, November 6 at 2:00 P.M., the House Rules Committee will meet to decide what amendments will be considered when the health care bill is brought to the House floor for debate.

FAIR has learned that true immigration reformers in the House are working to strengthen the verification system in the bill and close the illegal alien loopholes that exist. Reps. Joe Wilson (R-SC), Dean Heller (R-NV), and Nathan Deal (R-GA) are planning to file an amendment with the Rules Committee that would help ensure that illegal aliens will not be able to access taxpayer-funded subsidies created by the bill.

But this isn't the only problem with the House health care bill. In addition to the weak verification provisions, this legislation:

Once again, however, there are true immigration reformers working to fix these provisions in the bill. In addition to the provisions that would strengthen verification, the Wilson-Heller-Deal amendment will also reinstate the five-year waiting period for legal immigrants with respect to the affordability credit. Furthermore, FAIR has learned from Capitol Hill sources that another amendment will likely be offered to prohibit illegal aliens from accessing the "Exchange."

But filing these amendments with the Rules Committee is only the first step. These true immigration reformers need our help to ensure that the Rules Committee approves these two critical amendments so that they will each get a vote on the floor of the House - a vote that they certainly deserve! Here's what you can do:

Call House leadership and the Members of the Rules Committee and tell them:

House Leadership

Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi (D-CA): 202-225-4965
Majority Leader Steny Hoyer (D-MD): 202-225-4131
Majority Whip James Clyburn (D-SC): 202-225-3315
Minority Leader John Boehner (R-OH): 202-225-6205
Minority Whip Eric Cantor (R-VA): 202-225-2815 

Members of the Rules Committee

Chairwoman Louise Slaughter (D-NY): 202-225-3615
James McGovern (D-MA): 202-225-6101
Alcee Hastings (D-FL): 202-225-1313
Doris Matsui (D-CA): 202-225-7163
Dennis Cardoza (D-CA): 202-225-6131
Michael Arcuri (D-NY): 202-225-3665
Ed Perlmutter (D-CO): 202-225-2645
Chellie Pingree (D-ME): 202-225-6116
Jared Polis (D-CO): 202-225-2161
Ranking Member David Dreier (R-CA): 202-225-2305
Lincoln Diaz-Balart (R-FL): 202-225-4211
Pete Sessions (R-TX): 202-225-2231
Virginia Foxx (R-NC): 202-225-2071

To contact your Representatives, click here.

You are now being logged in using your Facebook credentials